skip navigation

NIGMS Logo NIGMS > Minority Programs Update > Winter 2003 > Zlotnik Appointed MBRS Director

Print Version (PDF)
(requires free Adobe Acrobat Reader)

Zlotnik Appointed MBRS Director

photo of Dr. Hinda Zlotnik

Dr. Hinda Zlotnik

Dr. Hinda Zlotnik, a microbiologist with extensive experience in grant and program administration, has been appointed chief of the MBRS Branch at NIGMS.

Zlotnik had been working as a program director in the MORE Division since 1999. She came to NIGMS from the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine in San Juan, where she was director of the Office of Sponsored Research and a professor in the department of microbiology and medical zoology. During her academic tenure, Zlotnik’s research focused on pathogenic actinomycetes (bacteria related to those that cause strep infections). In addition, she was active in training underrepresented minority students for careers in science, a major aim of the MORE Division.

“Dr. Zlotnik brings a solid science background and a sensitivity to the needs and concerns of the grantee community,” said Dr. Clifton Poodry. “She has earned the respect of colleagues here at NIH as well as from the directors of MORE programs across the country.”

Zlotnik succeeds Dr. Ernest Márquez, who directed the MBRS Branch from 1996–2002 and who is now associate director for special populations at the National Institute of Mental Health.

Zlotnik earned her undergraduate degree in biochemistry and microbiology from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexico City, and her Ph.D. in microbiology and immunology from Temple University in Philadelphia. She did postdoctoral work at Temple University’s Skin and Cancer Hospital, as well as at the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases’ (NIDDK) Laboratory of Enzymes and Biochemistry. In 1995, she spent 6 months as an NIH extramural associate, performing assignments with the MARC Branch and with the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders.

Zlotnik is a member of several scientific societies, including the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Society for Microbiology, the International Society for Human and Animal Mycology, and the Medical Mycological Society of the Americas. She served as president of the Puerto Rico Society of Microbiologists from 1991–1992 and editor of the Medical Mycological Society of the Americas newsletter from 1994–1997.

<< Previous Article | Next Article >>